PRESS RELEASE 25 June 2018, Monday

IIM Trichy Inaugurates PGP 2018-20 Batch and Presents Merit Awards for the Batch of 2017-19

IIM Tiruchirappalli (IIM Trichy) inaugurated its eighth batch of Post Graduate Programme in Management in a ceremony held on 25th June, 2018 (Monday). The occasion was graced by Chief Guest **Shri Sanjeev Kumar Gupta**, MD & CEO, 'Lahari' - Advanced Electronics Testing Facility and Guest of Honour, **Dr. Jibitesh Rath**, General Manager (HRD), NMDC Ltd.

The event began with an invocation and the lighting of the lamp, followed by a welcome address by Dr. Godwin Tennyson, Chairperson, PGPM. Dr. Bhimaraya Metri, Director, IIM Tiruchirappalli then gave the Director's Address in which he mentioned that it was a historic day for IIMT as PGP 2018-20 was the first batch to be inaugurated in the Permanent Campus. He reaffirmed the institutes' stance on gender inclusion with the batch consisting of a sizeable number of female students. He touched upon the state-of-the-art facilities that were conducive to all round learning at the Permanent Campus along with 37 faculty members with strong research base and global exposure. He concluded by mentioning that the cultural history of the land was a matter of pride as the leaders of leaders and gurus of gurus belonged to Trichy.

This was followed by the Address by the Guest of Honour **Dr. Jibitesh Rath** where he asked the students to have a role model in their lives. He also stressed on the fact that one should align their purpose of life with what they do. Dr. Rath closed his speech by quoting Mr. Winston Churchill "Never, never, never quit".

This was followed by the Address by Chief Guest **Shri Sanjeev Kumar Gupta** who told the students that they should feel proud and blessed as they are a part of IIM Trichy's fraternity. He enlightened the students by sharing personal incidences on how he learnt from challenging situations in his life. He urged the students to work with a vision, never say die attitude and integrity in the corporate careers and find an appropriate platform to launch themselves to work towards making India a powerful nation.

The Guest of Honour also presented the Term Wise Merit Awards for best academic performance in the first year of the PGP 2017-19 Batch to Mr. Deepesh Agarwal, Mr. Arun A and Mr. Jagtap Sachin Suresh.

The Guest of Honour presented the Director's Merit Awards to the top 5% of the students in the entire batch identified based on their academic performance during the 1st year to Mr. Deepesh Agarwal, Mr. Jagtap Sachin Suresh, Mr. Rahul Gulati, Mr. Gorwadkar Piyush Mahesh, Ms. Cherukupalli Sravani, Mr. Ashwini Kumar Goyal, Mr. Chitwala Deekshit Kumar, Mr. Mayank Kumar Pansari, Mr. Arun A and Mr. Sumit Banerjee (Doctoral Student).

On this occasion, Shri Sanjeev Kumar Gupta announced as Special Award of ₹25,000/- to be awarded to a Women candidate in the area of Entrepreneurship.

The Vote of Thanks was proposed by Professor Sankalp Pratap, Chairperson, Fellow Programme and Research. The event concluded with National Anthem.