

INDIAN INSTITUTE OF MANAGEMENT TIRUCHIRAPPALLI भारतीय प्रबंध संस्थान तिरुचिरापल्ली

Tiruchirappalli – 620015, Tamilnadu, INDIA तिरुचिरापल्ली – 620015, तमिलनाडु, भारत

5 February 2015

IIM Trichy emerges joint winner in National Round of the 8th Annual CFA Institute Research Challenge

IIM Trichy and SCMHRD Pune advance to the APAC finals at Manila

IIM Trichy has won the national round of the 8th Annual CFA Institute Research Challenge in India. The team will now compete for the Asia Pacific finals to be held in Manila, Philippines on 11-12th March, 2015.

The team from IIM Trichy, comprising of Ankur Lal, Ajit Kumar, Bhanu Putumbaka, Gourab Biswas and Georgy K Joseph, were adjudged unanimous winners at the National round, held on 2nd Feb 2015 at the Bloomberg office in Mumbai. The other finalists in the national round included SP JAIN from West zone, IIFT Delhi from North zone, SCMHRD from Central zone and IIM Shillong from East zone.

The teams had to present an equity research report on the given company, before an eminent panel of judges comprising of senior finance professionals: Neelkanth Mishra (India Equity Strategist, Credit Suisse), Saurabh Mukherjea, CFA (CEO of Institutional Equities, Ambit Capital) and R. Srinivasan (Head of Equities, SBI Mutual Fund).

The CFA Institute Research Challenge, considered as the Investment Olympics saw more than 3700+ students from 825+ universities worldwide in the local rounds of the competition this year. In India, it is conducted at the 5 zonal levels, with 47 of the country's best management institutes participating. This year, the South Zone finals saw teams from IFMR, TAPMI, IIM Trichy, IIM Bangalore and IIM Kozhikode present their research analysis and answer probing questions from an eminent panel of judges, with IIM Trichy emerging as winners.

The team will now head to Manila for the Asia-Pacific finals, where they will face off against the best teams in the Asia Pacific Region. SCMHRD Pune team will also participate in this round. The regional winners will then advance to the global finals in the hopes of being crowned the global CFA champion.

We wish our team the very best in the upcoming rounds.



In attached photo : (From left to right): Georgy K Joseph, Ajit Kumar, Saurabh Mukherjea (Judge), Gourab Biswas, Neelkanth Mishra(Judge), R. Srinivasan(Judge), Bhanu Putumbaka and Ankur Lal.