

IIM Tiruchirappalli Celebrates its Twelfth Foundation Day

Indian Institute of Management Tiruchirappalli celebrated its Twelfth Foundation Day on the 4th of January, 2023 to mark the inception of IIM Tiruchirappalli as the 11th Indian Institute of Management. The event was graced by Shri. K. Vinayagamurthi, Executive Director - CEM Unit Operations Dalmia Cement (Bharat) Limited as the Chief Guest, Shri Jalaj Dani, Chairman, Board of Governors, IIM Tiruchirappalli, Dr. Pawan Kumar Singh, Director IIM Tiruchirappalli, BOG members, faculty, staff, and students. In addition, BOG members and alumni also attended the event virtually. The dignitaries inaugurated the event with an invocation song and the lighting of the lamp. After this, a video presentation was shown, highlighting the journey of IIMT and its achievements since its inception in 2011.

Honourable Chief Guest, , **Shri K Vinayagamurthi** in his address expressed his gratitude to the Institute's founders and emphasized on application of one's knowledge, the importance of innovation, leadership, vision, and other management lessons like discipline and focus. He insisted that the students dream big and work hard with commitment towards their successful future.

Shri Jalaj Dani, Chairman, Board of Governors, IIM Tiruchirappalli, addressed the gathering and acknowledged the vision, ideas, and pioneering work of founding members of Institute that helped establish IIM Tiruchirappalli's legacy. Chairman recalled the impact of Covid and the importance of such landmarks in an Institute's life. He urged the students and staff to be grateful and committed to taking the Institute's legacy ahead.

In the welcome address delivered by **Dr. Pawan Kumar Singh, Director**, IIM Tiruchirappalli, he thanked the Chief Guest, the Chairman- BOG, and Mrs. Alka Mittal, former CEO of ONGC Ltd., for their presence and congratulated the faculty, staff, students, and alumni on completing twelve years of IIM Tiruchirappalli. He spoke about the importance of gratitude and reenergizing ourselves by finding the inner source to shine brighter in our lives. The Director also highlighted the significance of foundation and the impact of technology on a managerial career.

The best 'Make A Difference' (MAD) projects, under the able guidance of Prof. V. Gopal, were awarded to three groups from the PGPM and PGPM-HR batches of 2021-2023. The Chief Guest presented the awards to Anwesha Vijayvargia, Anusha N, Krishna Teja P, Deepanwita Dey, Bayyana Manohar Sai Kiran, and Shilpa Joseph who did a project on Supporting and educating locals on how to convert water hyacinth weed into money. Aayur Verma, Akash Sharma, Ankit Raj, Rahul Yadav, Shreysi Batra, and Tarun Naik worked towards Transgender Upskilling and Career Readiness. Anwesha Pal, Kalpana S, Prateek Gupta, Rakesh Chowdhury, Shahim Fatmi, and Vikram Shingade worked on Battery Operated Wheelchair (Neomotion).

The faculty and staff who have completed ten years of service at IIM Tiruchirappalli were felicitated for their decade long contribution to the Institute. These included Prof. Suresh Paul Antony, Prof. Manikandan K S, Mr. A.M. Kandamaran, Ms. B. Chandramathi, Mr. A. Kumarasswamy, Mr. S. Sivaraj, Ms. M. Sruthi, Mr. R. Kulandai Yesu, Ms. K. Devi, Mr. A. Vincent, Mr. Kadari Santosh Kumar, Mr. A. Ponraj, and Mr. S. L. Sanjith. The ceremony concluded with the Vote of Thanks, followed by the National Anthem.